Well it was one outstanding weekend to be had! Saturday I actually missed the meet up to go to the Korean War Memorial Museum. I was bogged down in errands. Since I’m going to Mudfest in Boryeong next weekend I wanted to get sunglasses, contact lenses, activate the cell phone and get a hair cut. Mission accomplished on all of these except the cell phone activation.

Me: Annyong Haseyo, could I setup a subscription?

SK clerk: What?!

Me: My cell phone needs to be registered.

SK clerk: Ahhh, not on Sundays.

Me: Uhhh, it’s Saturday…

SK clerk (rolling eyes and looking annoyed): You come here Monday!

Me: Annayong Geyseyo…

Haha, can’t win ’em all I guess. Luckily one of my supervisor is going with me to the store during my afternoon break tomorrow. My haircut looks decent and my kids were flippin out due to me showing up sans glasses. The compliments from a student’s mom that she’d never seen me look so handsome didn’t hurt. I try to stay impartial but it’s hard not to feel biased when she gives me free coffee all the time and is such a savvy flatterer.

Since I missed the trip to the museum I decided to go to Noksapyeong with my coworker from Jersey. We met up with a British friend of his at Craftworks which is a microbrewery in Seoul, these are extremely rare here so I truly took my time in imbibing the dark ale and Kolsch I tried. I ordered nachos for lunch, the salsa and cheese were great but the chips themselves were rather lacking. The opposite was the case at Yaletown earlier that week, can’t win ’em all.

It was getting a little later in the afternoon by this point so I gave an “adios” to my coworkers and hopped back on the subway to cruise out to Hongdae to meet with my friends from college to go to the FC Seoul match at World Cup Stadium. For all the criticism I had heard of K-League not being that exciting I was rather impressed.

The final score was 3-2 with Seoul coming back in the last-minute of stoppage time to score the final goal. There were good shots on goals and some skilled ball handling at times. It was no EPL and I’d feel sorry for Seoul if they had to play a team on the caliber of Chelsea (my personal favorites) but I feel like they would definitely be able to put on a great game against the Sounders, the MLS squad I cheer for back home.

I also got some interesting looks on my way to the game due to all the clashing colors. I was not only sporting my Chelsea jersey but had a Sounders scarf on and a Seoul FC fan (Blue & Yellow, Green & Black, Red & Black) so stuck out like a sore thumb. All in all I had a great time, now consider my self a FC Seoul fan in the making and can’t wait to go to another game in the near future!

That’s all the time I have for the blog right now. Photos of the game will be up soon and I’ll try to give an update about my Sunday Funday at Jacoby’s Burgers and Roots Time when I get the chance. Thanks for dropping by!

