So I have been woefully inept in the last two weeks at updating my blog. House-sitting, going to shows and first Spring BBQ’s have been great distraction! As is typical in this beautiful Ecotopia I live in (Pacific Northwest) the sun has fled and rain is falling.We natives learn not to complain though, we wouldn’t have all the trees and verdant hills without the precipitation. My amiga Marcela always says blogging is easier in the winter, even though it’s not snowflakes falling I can see some merit in her argument.

  This second half of Compact Prepack deals with a more data driven side of my preparations for getting the heck out of Dodge. I’ve been making lists of what music I need to load onto my Ipod and what shows I need to burn onto DVD (Arrested Development, Pete and Pete, Portlandia and Archer at top of list) to take with me. Figure these will be great time killers while waiting for first paycheck and also keep any potential homesickness at bay. Plus in tracking down which friends will have what genres I can swoop from I’m killing two birds with one stone.

    In order to get all my freshest of dancehall and reggae needs I get to go visit Chuck Blendah out in the San Juan Islands. For blues scholars and other Seattle hip-hop I need to trek up to Snohomish County to visit Maximus then go even further up to Bellingham (right next to Canadian border) to visit Kevmeister at the lake house and download his indie and electronica. My hardcore and metal needs will be the easiest to get to in Capitol Hill at the Metalshop amigos pad, but since they are the Kings of Metal on the Seattle airwaves their library will be the hardest musical labyrinth to navigate. Props Kevin and Ian, I look forward to being on the show at least one more Saturday night!

 I love being a representative of the many native eclectic and epic music scenes/bands and can’t wait to show others what our city has to offer besides the often associated grunge scene. On that note here is one of the paragons of Seattle singer/songwriter savagery, Mr. Rocky Votalato. I’ve been a huge fan of his old band Waxwing and his performance in the indie film Edge of Quarrel (Hardcore vs. Metal take on Romeo and Juliet set in my homecity) was definite highlight of cinema back in my High School days. He finished his tour here the other day and while this isn’t the vein of music I usually tap, his vocal chords take me back to golden days of entering the scene and escaping the suburbs for one night for a cultural breath of fresh air.

